Workshop on Peer-to-Peer Multicasting 2007 (P2PM'07)

at IEEE Consumer Communications and Networking Conference 2007 (CCNC 07)

Las Vegas, NV, USA - January 11, 2007

Final Program

The convergence of networked consumer electronics and peer-to-peer networking enables new applications that require efficient multicast communication. These applications include peercasting of multimedia streams, multi-party conferencing, multi-player games, and group chat. Many consumer applications of multicasting involve small groups of users, and future P2P multicast services could need to support millions of simultaneous groups.

Due to delayed deployment of native multicast, various end-system, application layer (ALM) and overlay multicast (OM) designs have been proposed. In the future, these protocols are expected to coexist and integrate with native IP multicast protocols while offering more flexible deployment options and scaling to support a greater number of simultaneous multicast groups.

P2PM'07 is intended to serve as a continuing forum for scientists and engineers in academia and industry to exchange and discuss their experiences, new ideas, and research results about all aspects of P2P multicasting. It will address the challenges, technologies, and architectures leading to real-world solutions that provide P2P users with efficient, flexible, and deployable multicast services. The principal theme of P2PM'07 is the development of protocols, architectures and applications of peer-to-peer multicasting and the performance evaluation of these designs.

Topics of particular interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Peer-to-peer overlays with multicast support
  • Small group multicast
  • Explicit multicasting
  • Application Layer Multicast (ALM)
  • Overlay Multicast (OM)
  • Peercasting
  • Hybrid multicasting architectures
  • Comparitive analysis of ALM and OM architectures
  • Scalable integration of QoS mechanisms
  • Overlay content distribution
  • Multi-path routing for overlay multicasting
  • Methods for group formation and discovery that scale to large numbers of groups
  • Support for highly dynamic group membership
  • Efficient multicast for limited-resource nodes and access links
  • Control mechanisms for hybrid systems
  • Underlay network support and optimization
  • Deploying, diagnosing, debugging, and managing P2P multicast services
  • Geocasting
  • Multicasting in the global information grid (GIG)
  • Integration with network- and application-layer security mechanisms
  • Guidelines for Submission

    Submitted papers must represent original material that is not currently under review in any other conference or journal, and has not been previously published.

  • Paper length should not exceed five-page technical paper manuscript. Please see author information page for submission guidelines at CCNC'07 website ( The paper should be used as the basis for a 20-30 minute Workshop presentation.
  • Papers should be submitted in a .pdf or .ps format by selecting CCNC'07 at the EDAS paper submission website ( and then selecting the workshop submission link.
  • A separate cover sheet should show the title of the paper, the author(s) name(s) and affiliation(s), and the address (including e-mail, telephone, and fax) to which the correspondence should be sent.
  • All accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings.
  • At least one author of accepted papers is required to register at the full registration rate.
  • Important dates:

  • Sept 7, 2006 - Submissions due
  • Sept 30, 2006 - Decisions to authors
  • Oct 10, 2006 - Camera ready copy
  • Jan 11, 2007 - at IEEE CCNC 2007, Las Vegas, NV, USA
  • Venue

    P2PM 2007 is organized as part of the IEEE Consumer Communications and Networking Conference (CCNC) 2007 which is held in Las Vegas, NV, scheduled immediately following the International Consumer Electronics Show (CES).


    John Buford, Panasonic Princeton Laboratory
    Keith Ross, Polytechnic University

    Technical Program Committee

    William Atwood (Concordia University)
    Bobby Bhattacharjee (University of Maryland)
    Fabián Bustamante (Northwestern University)
    Ken Calvert (University of Kentucky)
    Shueng-Han Chan (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
    Xiaoming Fu (University of Goettingen)
    Ali Ghodsi (Swedish Institute of Computer Science)
    Baochun Li (University of Toronto)
    Alan Messer (Samsung Electronics)
    Jeremy Mineweaser (MIT Lincoln Laboratory)
    Mark Pullen (George Mason University)
    Sanjay Rao (Purdue University)
    Keith Ross (Polytechnic University)
    Günter Schäfer (Technische Universität Ilmenau)
    Zahir Tari (RMIT University)
    Kurt Tutschku (University of Würzburg)
    Li Xiao (Michigan State University)
    Heather Yu (Panasonic Princeton Laboratory)
    Wenjun Zeng (University of Missouri)